Wednesday, June 5, 2013

Awareness Wednesday: Miso

Hey everyone, its the first Wednesday of June and you know what that means...time for another Awareness Wednesday post!  This post is about another food that I continued to eat well into my vegetarianism, and only gave it up about 3 years ago.  I am talking about miso.

 photo 01212-honzukuri-white-miso-paste-lg_zpseac56851.jpg

Miso is an Asian soybean paste and its usually used to make soup. Sounds vegetarian, right?  Well I thought so too.  I even followed my own rules and read the ingredients on some miso soup that I bought from a supermarket years ago.  I saw that it was vegetarian, and I added another food to my diet.

This is where is gets tricky.  Some miso is vegetarian, and sometimes it can be made with fish stock.  In order to avoid eating fish, but still enjoying the sometimes-vegetarian food requires a few guidelines.

1. Only eat the miso you can read the ingredients for. I still enjoy instant miso soup from the supermarket that I can be sure is vegetarian.

2. Do not eat the miso soup from restaurants.  In my book, if you can't read the ingredients, you don't know what's in it.

3. Ask your server if their miso is vegetarian. If you are out and want some miso soup, just ask if there is fish in it.

 photo Easy-to-Prepare-Miso-Soup-Recipe142135917_std_zps37a6bdbf.jpg

Until I learned about miso's semi-fishiness, I used to eat it all the time. Until one time I ordered a soup from a sushi place and the miso tasted a little different.  I decided to do some research and found out about the fish stock.  In order to be safe, I don't order it from restaurants anymore unless I am 100% positive that its fish free, like the vegan miso soup that I had in Austin.

Did you know about the fish in miso? Will you stop ordering it from restaurants?

Bye from the Veggie Side!


  1. :( I have learned so much from your awareness posts! Some I almost wish I didn't know. j/k! Thanks for sharing another food to be more cautious about!

    1. aww that really means a lot to me! it makes me feel good that what i'm doing is helping people :)

  2. I never knew that! These awareness posts are great!

  3. Yup, I stopped eating miso soup in restaurants. I recently stopped eating the noodle bowls too as that usually made with fish stock even when requesting that it be vegetarian. :-(


I read every comment! I appreciate everything you guys have to say, so go on and comment, I don't bite!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...