Wednesday, August 22, 2012

Awareness Wednesdays. Gummy Candy.

Hello and welcome to another Awareness Wednesday!  Today's food is another gelatin based one.  You guys will soon see that most of my Awareness Wednesday posts will be about gelatin.  Gelatin is a very diverse substance that can be in many foods as well as other commonly used products.

Gummy candies are a favorite among many, but not vegetarians.   The majority of gummy candies are made with gelatin.  This includes gummy bears, gummy worms, and even gummy vitamins that are becoming popular.  The best way to avoid these foods is to read.  Always check ingredients before eating anything.  You might find something that might surprise you!

Still craving gummy candy? Well so am I! One of my favorite gummy candies are Sour Patch Kids. And guess what? They don't have any gelatin! Dots, Mike and Ike's, and Swedish Fish are other popular gummy candies that leave out the gelatin.  For heathier alternatives try Annie's Organic Bunny Fruit Snacks.

Remember, it is always easier to cut out a food when you have plenty of alternatives.  While my friends get their gummy bears at the movies, I can get my Sour Patch Kids. Just because you are a vegetarian does not mean you have to eat rabbit food!

Bye from the veggie side!


I read every comment! I appreciate everything you guys have to say, so go on and comment, I don't bite!


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...